Tofu Salad

I figured that I was overdue for a recipe post, so today I wanted to share with you something that we all enjoy around here, Tofu Salad. Autumn loves to take tofu salad sandwiches to school. This vegan version of egg salad is full of flavor and protein, plus, it is quick and easy to make. I like that!

Tofu Salad

Recipe adapted from The Hip Chicks Guide to Macrobiotics

  • 1 package (350 g) extra firm tofu
  • 1 recipe tofu mayonnaise (below)
  • 1 tablespoon umeboshi vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard
  • 1 teaspoon mirin
  • 1/3 cup diced red onion
  • 1/2 cup diced dill pickles

Directions

Cut the tofu into 1 inch slices and place them in a boiling pot of water for 5 minutes

Meanwhile, prepare the mayonnaise in a food processor

Cut up the onion and pickles. We had some nice red onions from a friends garden and some gigantic pickles.

In a large bowl, whisk together the mayonnaise, umeboshi vinegar, dijon mustard and mirin. Add the chopped onion and pickles. Drain the tofu and allow it to cool. Once the tofu has cooled, crumble it into the bowl with the other ingredients.

Serve as a sandwich or eat it as is. 🙂

Tofu Mayonnaise

Makes about 2 cups of mayo

  • 1 pkg (300g) soft tofu
  • 1 tablespoon umeboshi vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon brown rice vinegar
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard

Directions

Blend all ingredients together in a food processor until smooth. Keep tofu mayonnaise in a container in the fridge for 3-5 days.

I thought I would also share with you some pictures the girls took yesterday. I didn’t even realize that these were on here until today. Now I understand exactly what went on when I could hear the girls fighting yesterday, while I was blogging.

First, Kesa had the camera…

Taking random pictures of her ditched clothes

Then Autumn took the camera from Kesa

This is when I heard Kesa screaming and Autumn giggling so I asked, “what’s going on?”

Autumn seems to delight in making Kesa upset these days.

Kesa begins to kick Autumn. Autumn giggles more and Kesa screams more.

Oh the joys of motherhood!

I have plans to get out in that sunshine and maybe take the girls to the park. Later on Autumn has her piano lessons. She is doing so good and the claw is getting better. So proud of her.

Hope you all have a fabulous rest of your day! 🙂

13 thoughts on “Tofu Salad

  1. Pingback: Sweet and Sour Tofu with Stir-Fried Vegetables and Quinoa | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  2. Pingback: Life Is Beautiful | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  3. Pingback: Back On Track « Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  4. Pingback: Baby Loves « Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  5. Pingback: Tofu Love | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  6. Oh yum! This looks great! And thanks for including the “mayo” recipe … I’ve tried the commercial vegan version and really didn’t like it. Your recipe looks good an healthy (I like that it doesn’t include much oil). Thanks, again!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Baby Loves Part 2 | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  8. Pingback: ‘Honey’ Dijon Tofu Salad Sandwich | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  9. Pingback: Chickpea Of The Sea | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  10. I’m a new vegan and found your blog through Happy Kitchen, and I am in love with your recipes! I’m excited about vegan mayo, it’s so easy that there’s no excuse NOT to make it! One question though: how long does the eggless mayo keep in the fridge for?

    Like

  11. Pingback: Eating Vegan On A Budget – A Peek Into Our Vegan Family’s Grocery Shopping and How To Save | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  12. Pingback: How To Make Tofu Taste Good | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

I Would Love To Hear From You!