Life Is Fantastic!

There are many things that make life fantastic.

Watching Craig try to convince Kesa to get dressed by putting a diaper on his face and making the diaper talk to her, while she completely ignores him…

Fantastic!

Seeing how imaginative my little girl is, often lost in the magical world of pixie hollow…

Fantastic!

Taking advantage of good health by going for an hour long walk and taking in the beauty of the sunset…

Fantastic!

Making beautiful, healthy, amazingly delicious meals for my family…

Fantastic!

Not only was tonight’s meal fantastic, it was also amazingly delicious! It reminded me of the times when Craig and I used to go out to Boston Pizza and order pasta, although this is much healthier.

I was craving pasta tonight and figured salad and garlic bread would pair nicely with it. I have a lot of beautiful squash to get creative with, so spaghetti squash it was.

Tonight’s meal did not disappoint and of course, being the kind person that I am, rather than keeping the delicious recipes all to myself, I am going to share them with you! 🙂

Fantastic!

Simple Baked Spaghetti Squash

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash

Directions

Preheat oven to 400F. Place the spaghetti squash on a baking sheet in the oven to bake for 1 hour or until soft. Once the spaghetti squash is done, remove it from the oven and cut it in half.

Allow it to cool a little, before removing and discarding the seeds and guts. Scrape the ‘spaghetti’ out of the squash and into a bowl.

Top with organic pasta sauce and serve with a side salad and Italian Herbed Garlic Buns. This is a great alternative to regular  wheat pasta and is gluten free. I like to make spaghetti squash from time to time for a change.

Italian Herb Garlic Spread

Makes enough for 4 buns

  • 4 heads of garlic
  • 1 tablespoon sunflower oil
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon sea salt
  • 4 whole wheat buns

Directions

Cut the tops of each garlic head to expose the cloves. Place each head of garlic onto a square of aluminum foil, drizzle with a few drops of oil and wrap in the foil. Bake at 400°F for 30-35 minutes, until golden and the garlic cloves are soft.

Unwrap the heads of garlic and allow to cool a little. Squeeze the soft garlic cloves into a bowl and add the Italian seasoning and sea salt.

Mash all the ingredients together with a fork or potato masher, until mixture becomes spreadable. I left some chunks in there because I love garlic.

Cut the buns in half and spread the garlic spread onto the buns.

Place the buns onto a baking sheet and bake for 5 minutes or until buns are nice and toasty.

Remove from oven and serve warm.

This garlic spread is an excellent alternative to butter and is sure to impress. These buns go great with soups, chili, or any pasta dishes. They are amazing!

Autumn really enjoyed this meal too. What kids don’t like spaghetti?

It’s so fun to eat!

Fantastic husband. Fantastic kids. Fantastic health. Fantastic food. What else can I say?

Life is fantastic!

8 thoughts on “Life Is Fantastic!

  1. Pingback: Get In The Habit | Eat, Run, Write, Love

  2. Pingback: All In A Day’s Work | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  3. Pingback: Pizza Pasta « Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  4. Looks great! I’m looking forward to trying your garlic spread! I stumbled onto your blog several days ago, and I am so glad that I did. My husband and I have two little ones at home (1 and 3) and we have been eating vegan for the last couple of months – a recent change. Thank you so much for sharing your recipes and being such an inspiring mom!

    Like

  5. Pingback: La La Lasagna | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

  6. Pingback: Roasted Garlic and Red Pepper Hummus {Oil-Free} | Live. Learn. Love. Eat.

I Would Love To Hear From You!